Council names Charter Review Commission

April 20, 2010

Akron City Council passed an ordinance last night establishing a Charter Review Commission.

Named to the commission were Council President Marco Sommerville; former councilpersons Terry Albanese, Chairperson; John Frank, Vice Chairperson; and Gary Monneypenny. Also named were Candice Campbell Jackson, Jacqueline Silas Butler, Sophie Albrecht, Elizabeth Quirk Sheeler and William Rich.

The City is required by ordinance to convene a Charter Review Commission every 10 years.

“With five of 10 wards represented on the Commission, this is the most representative yet diverse group that we have ever assembled to review the charter,” Sommerville said. “I anticipate that the major issues to discuss are campaign finance reform and the requirements for recalling an elected official.”

The Commission will report its recommendations to Council in July.