At-large recount results in: New and familiar names on ballot in November Council race

September 22, 2009

The At-Large race recount results are in, and the tie between incumbent Terry Albanese (W-6) and returning Council candidate Jeff Fusco has been broken in Fusco’s favor.

The Summit County Board of Elections Monday published the official recount results, which show Fusco’s 4,817 votes surpassed those cast for Albanese by seven votes. As a result, the Democratic challengers for the three At-Large Council seats will be incumbent Michael Williams, former Akron School Board member Linda Omobien and Fusco – a former Ward 10 city councilman and Deputy Service Director for the City of Akron.

The Democratic candidates will face Republicans David M. Sutter, David J. Kirshbaum and Michelle Dimeff, and write-in nonpartisan Terry Toth.

The ward races will yield some new and familiar names on the November ballot. The official results, by ward, are:

  • Ward 1: James P. Hurley III, incumbent, faces Republican Charly Murphy.
  • Ward 2: Bruce Kilby, incumbent, faces Republican Josh Sines.
  • Ward 3: Marco Sommerville, incumbent, will run unopposed.
  • Ward 4: Russel C. Neal Jr. will run unopposed.
  • Ward 5: Kenneth L. Jones, incumbent, will run unopposed.
  • Ward 6: Former Akron City Councilman and State Rep. Robert Otterman will run unopposed.
  • Ward 7: Incumbent Tina Merlitti faces Republican Duane L. Schramm Sr.
  • Ward 8: First-time candidate Sandra Kurt faces Republican Elizabeth Berry Smith.
  • Ward 9: Incumbent Mike Freeman will run unopposed.
  • Ward 10: Incumbent Kelli Crawford will run unopposed.